Other Shelter Volunteering Experiences

4/15/2016

One weekend in January, the person I normally volunteer with went with his other friend to volunteer. When they went together, his friend yelled at one of the dogs to shut up; there was a miscommunication and the person I normally volunteer with was dismissed for something he never did. I was faced with a dilemma; volunteering would not be the same without him. Especially since he was the reason I was inspired to volunteer at this shelter.

I decided I definitely wanted to continue to volunteer because I didn’t want to break my commitment and because I remembered how fun going to the shelter is. I felt like volunteering would help me grow as a person, and this was proved true after I started volunteering by myself. Since I was by myself, I had to learn to branch out and talk to the other adults at the shelter. Besides helping my human interaction skills, volunteering alone also helped my animal skills. I have become more comfortable with pets in general, but I think I am slowly overcoming my fear of the big dogs. As I continue to volunteer, I hope to completely overcome my discomfort handling the big dogs. I also felt comfortable enough to switch from signing up for “new volunteer shifts” to the normal shifts. I hope to continue volunteering and have more meaningful experiences at the SPCA Shelter.


Leave a Reply

