Winterguard Season 2016

3/25/2016

Last year, I was a part of the Plano East winterguard, and I had so much fun that I couldn’t wait to do it again this year. The only thing I wasn’t looking forward to was the long practices twice a week from 5:15-8:15 pm. Since I had done it last year, I knew how to allocate my homework, so I wouldn’t be overwhelmed every Monday and Thursday night. It’s important to me to balance the things you love and to make time for activities you enjoy. 

I was really excited for this season because I will be in a colorguard with my friends from marching band. Last year they split the winterguards into two groups depending on skill level, so when the director said that there will only be one big group, I was a bit worried of how that would turn out. I was impressed with how the show was written to comply with the range of skill levels, and I found myself really enjoying performing it. At the beginning of the season, we were awarded 4th place, which is one place away from a trophy. After the first competition, we got trophies at each competition. This was especially rewarding because we only got a trophy once last year, and I was glad my hard work was being rewarded with a tangible achievement. It also made me more proud to be in colorguard because we used to be a small organization that no one cared about, but we are actually good at what we do, so maybe people should start caring.

At Championships, we placed 2nd! This is especially special because we were projected to be third, but we proved ourselves worthy of a silver medal. I’m really proud of every single person I performed with. I’ll never forget this show and the memories I made during our crazy practices. The ending of the season is a bit bittersweet; on one hand, I get more free time and homework time, but on the other hand, I will miss seeing my friends twice a week. It’ll be hard, but I hope next year turns out to be even more fun, and I hope we can place 1st place at championships and earn a banner!   
   

Leave a Reply

